Flinders Athletics Club History



Reports on the winter of 1989. Brett Cartwright wins the National U/17 Cross-Country Championships. Flinders AC 1989.



Flinders won its second Winter Premiership despite the team sizes on several events being enlarged. Darren Abbott won the National U/17 4km Cross-Country. John Kavanagh and Peter Brett represented Australia in the World Cross-Country Championships in Norway. By now several of our athletes were being coached by non-Flinders, freelance coaches. Brett cartwright the Australian U/16 3000m four times! Yolanda Budich represented Australia in the World Junior Championships (Canada). There was a brief scare over a car park planned for the bottom oval - only a reprieve. Our Constitution underwent its first major amendment with the introduction of Associate Membership & dropping the term "amateur". Flinders AC 1988-89.



Flinders Mens team won it's first winter premiership despite protests, scoring errors, new points system and threatened disqualifications! On the track Flinders was now winning more senior titles and dominated the distance events. Brendan Hewitt because the clubs first senior national chanpiuuon winning the 3000m Steeple (8.45.91). Brett Cartwright wins the nationa U/15 3000m (8.52.56). Flinders AC 1987-88.



On the track Flinders came second in the B Grade Interclub final - our best season to date. Darren Abbott win the National U/16 2000 Steeple (6.10.48) in a State U/16 record. Flinders athletes compete for the first time in "Open Athletics" (Pros). Flinders held a Colonial style Jubilee 150 meet. . Flinders AC 1986-87.



Yolanda Budich wins the Senior womens SA 4km Cross-Country at 15 years of age. On the track Brendan Hewitt (3000m Steeple) and David Woodley (800m) were the clubs first men's track state championships as the club won 23 individual and 8 relay titles. Flinders AC 1985-86.



The U/20 won the popular Victor Harbor to Adelaide Relay in a record time. Flinders University got bronze in the National Intervarsity Cross-Country Championships. A big haul of winners at the State Track & field Championships. Natalie Dillion (24.70 for 200m) won SA's only gold track gold medal at the Nationals. Phil Ryan won the U/16 Javelin with a throw of 63.22m. Flinders AC 1984-85.



Liza Tregenza won the women's 1500m State Championships the be Flinders' first senior State title. Toby Schreier co-managed the SA National Schools cross-country team to Canberra and went to the National Track & Field Championships as coach-manager. Flinders AC 1983-84.



Plenty of State Champions and top ten National top ten performances as the club demonstrated it's diversity winning the boys U/18 4x400m, veteran mens pole vault, veteran womens 90m hurdles as well as the usual middle distance titles across all junior age groups.. Flinders AC 1982-83.



In 1981 our Flinders Junior team won the clubs first winter premiership. Brendan Hewitt became the clubs first male national champion when he won the national U/19 2000m Steeple (5.53.8). Peter Brett was our first male senior State representative. Flinders AC 1981-82.



Brian Chapman produced a 10 year anniversay document which gives a year by year review of the first ten years of the club. The first six pages have the inaugral Flinders AC season in 1979-80

Please reload

Training Times

Tuesday & Thursday  


c/Flinders University

Sturt Road

Bedford Park


© 2016 Flinders Athletics Club